CSFL - Fri, Apr. 14, 2017

April 14, 2017 – Arizona Christian University was voted as the league's favorite in the 2017 Central States Football League (CSFL) Spring Coaches Poll. The Firestorm won its second consecutive conference championship last season and posted a perfect 6-0 record in CSFL play along with a 7-3 overall record.  ACU received 63 points in the poll and took seven of the nine first place votes.  The poll is comprised strictly of the league's head coaches vote.

Langston University was ranked second and finished six points behind ACU.  The Lions received 57 total points and received a first place vote.  Wayland Baptist University also received a first place vote and finished third in the poll with 50 votes.

Southwestern Assemblies of God University (Tex.) sewed up fourth place with 39 points and Oklahoma Panhandle State University, who recently was accepted by the NAIA, ranked fifth with 37 total points. Lyon College landed in the sixth spot with 30 points and Bacone College was ranked seventh with 23 votes. CSFL newcomer Texas Wesleyan University received 14 votes and was polled in eighth place, while Texas College rounded out the poll with 11 points.

During the 2017 season, nine teams will compete for the CSFL title, including four teams from Texas, three schools from Oklahoma and one University out of Arizona and Arkansas. The CSFL is comprised of Arizona Christian University, Bacone College, Langston University, Lyon College (Ark.), Oklahoma Panhandle State University, Southwestern Assemblies of God University (Tex.), Wayland Baptist University (Tex.), Texas College and Texas Wesleyan University.

2017 CSFL Preseason Poll

RankSchoolPoints (1st Place Votes)
1Arizona Christian University   63 (7)
2Langston University      57 (1)
3Wayland Baptist University (Tex.)   50 (1)
4Southwestern Assemblies of God Univ. (Tex.)  39
5Oklahoma Panhandle State University     37
6Lyon College (Ark.)        30
7Bacone College   23
8Texas Wesleyan University   14
9Texas College    11
Saturday, Nov 12
Saturday, Nov 5
Saturday, Oct 29
Saturday, Aug 26
Thursday, Aug 31
Saturday, Sep 2
Saturday, Sep 9
Fan Poll
Who was the conference's leading rusher in 2016?